Uncategorized

Party Girl

Once again on New Year’s Eve I found myself in a conundrum.

Friends for drinks, more friends to meet in town and someone’s idea to go to another pub at the other end of our town where there would be a Karaoke.

it has happened before. By 10pm I have had a few wines – even the mulled variety has its effects – and much excitement donning fancy dress to march up and down our seaside high street trying to spot those we know despite the vast amount of makeup, wigs and costumes.

It is lovely to laugh and joke with friends and I didn’t want the evening to end. We saw in the New Year on the street and then were driven to the pub. By then it was nearly 1am, I sang my Karaoke song very badly following another large wine and then had to wait for my friend to have her name called to sing.

We didn’t come away until 2am which is early for most on New Year’s Eve. But not if you are Bi Polar. I knew at 1 am that I really needed my night time medication and to curl up in my bed to sleep for 9-10 hours. It is the only way I can cope with my condition. Luckily I did not get carried away and stay on until 4am which some other friends did in a pub elsewhere in the town.

Once through my front door I fell on my meds pouch like a starving child being offered food. I drank plenty of water and made for my bed.

Of course I didn’t go to sleep for a long, long time. Disrupted routine, alcohol and excitement do not go hand in hand nicely with Bi Polar. So I am still lying awake at 4 am thinking I could have stayed out but, actually, no, that would have made it worse. It takes me time to ‘come down’ from being a Party Girl and the insomnia is caused by a lurking worry that this disruption may signal a ‘bad week’. I do so well coping with my Bi Polar that I really do not relish the idea of a spell of bad mood.

But this year I am in luck. I eventually drop off and do not wake up until 10.30 and I know that the following evening I can go to bed earlier and catch up. Well, perhaps not that night as we have family visiting but by the evening of 2nd January I know that I am stabilising and my late night has not put me into a low and spoilt my grandchildren’s visit.

Phew, I have escaped. Next year I may decline to go to the pub following Auld Lang Syne. For now I am getting through January without the terrible debilitating depression I experienced last year.

Standard

Leave a Reply

